17th International Soccer Awards Ceremony

Shay Given
Shay Given
Terry Dixon
Terry Dixon
Kevin Doyle
Kevin Doyle

The 17th annual Eircom International Soccer awards were presented at a ceremony held in the Citywest Hotel, Saggart on Sunday 4 February 2007.

The nominations for Senior International Player of the Year were Kevin Doyle, Damien Duff and Shay Given, with the award going to the Newcastle United goalkeeper for the second year running. The 30 year-old Donegal man, made his senior international debut against Russia in March 1996 and has now accumulated 78 caps. Given has continued to perform at the very highest level and his selection was entirely merited.

The International Personality award went to Bobby Robson, who of course fills the role of Consultant to the Irish Senior team, while current U21 manager and scorer of 19 goals for Ireland, Don Givens was inducted into the International Hall of Fame.

It came as no surprise that the prolific Reading striker Kevin Doyle was voted Young Player of the Year. The Under 21 and Under 19 awards went to Luton Town full back Kevin Foley and Bohemian FC midfielder John Paul Kelly respectively.

The Special Merit award went to the ever popular UCD manager Pete Mahon for his contribution to Irish football during his long career. International Goal of the Year was decided by the voting public and the winner was the Kevin Kilbane special in the European Championship qualifier against the Czech Republic in September 2006.

Awards CollageIn the other under-age categories, the exciting exploits of Tottenham Hotspur striker Terry Dixon, who is progressing well from his injury, and sixteen-year-old midfielder James O'Brien of Birmingham City, were recognised with their respective age group awards.

The award for the Senior Women's team was collected by defender Alisha Moran who plays with Harvard University in the United States while the goalscoring Stella Maris striker Aine O'Gorman was honoured at U19 level.

The full list of winners is:

  • Senior Player - Shay Given (Newcastle United)
  • Young Player - Kevin Doyle (Reading FC)
  • Under 21 Player - Kevin Foley (Luton Town FC)
  • Under 19 Player - John Paul Kelly (Bohemian FC)
  • Under 17 Player - Terry Dixon (Tottenham Hotspur FC)
  • Under 16 Player - James O'Brien (Birmingham City FC)
  • Irish Schools Player - Conor Powell (Portmarnock Community School/Bohemian FC)
  • Eircom League Player - Ollie Cahill (Drogheda United)
  • Senior Women - Alisha Moran (Harvard University, USA)
  • Under 19 Women - Aine O’Gorman (Stella Maris FC)
  • Intermediate Player - Ken Hoey (Rockmount FC)
  • Junior Player - Michael Keogh (Killester United FC)
  • Football for All - Gary Messitt (Cerebral Palsy Sport Ireland/Glencormack United FC)
  • Special Merit - Pete Mahon
  • Hall of Fame - Don Givens
  • International Personality - Bobby Robson
  • Goal of the Year - Kevin Kilbane (v Czech Republic 11.10.06)